Roasted Glazed Carrots

This is a very simple, flavourful way to cook carrots. For the glaze I whisked up the following;

  1. Two tablespoons of oil (I used olive oil)
  2. Two tablespoons of maple syrup
  3. One tablespoon of soy sauce
  4. One tablespoon of liquid smoke (optional)
  5. ½ teaspoon of black pepper
  6. ½ teaspoon of dried rosemary
  7. ½ teaspoon of dried parsley
  8. ½ teaspoon of smoked paprika

I then washed and peeled 750g/1.6lbs of carrots. I left the carrots whole, but I did remove the tops (you can leave them on if you prefer).

I put the carrots in an oven dish and poured the glaze over them, ensuring that each one was coated. I baked them at 220°C/430°F for 40 minutes until fork tender, turning them once after they’d been cooking for 20 minutes.

I think carrots can tend to be a little boring as a side dish, but cooking them like this really livens them up and gives them lots of smokey, sweet yet savoury flavour.

Bye for now 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

