Vegan Big Mac

I thought it might be a fun idea to try and “veganise” a typically very non-vegan food, so why not start with attempting to veganise a Bic Mac. However, I don’t ever recall eating a Big Mac, so this idea is already off to a bad start but stick with me, it gets better.

The more I think about it, I may have eaten a Big Mac, but it’s been so many years ago that I don’t fully recall it (I’ve not eaten meat or fish since I was 12 and I’ll turn 30 in a month, just to give a little context). I think I did a good job at attempting a vegan version of a Big Mac though, (it tasted good to me anyway).

I used Fry’s traditional burgers, but you could use what ever burgers you prefer. Personally I love to use field mushrooms as burger patties, I peel them and fry them in a little oil with salt, pepper and tarragon.

For the burger sauce I attempted to make a vegan Big Mac sauce by mixing the following together;

  1. Three tablespoons of vegan mayonnaise (check out how to make vegan mayonnaise here)
  2. One teaspoon of American mustard
  3. ½ teaspoon of smoked paprika
  4. ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  5. One teaspoon of diced onion
  6. One teaspoon of diced pickled gherkin
  7. A pinch of salt and black pepper

I very lightly buttered (with vegan margarine) the bread and fried it for a couple of minutes, just to toast it a little. I assembled the burger by trying to stick as closely as I could to a Big Mac, putting the lettuce on the bottom bun, followed by cheese (vegan cheese, of course) followed by burger, burger sauce, chopped onion, gherkin then the next bun.

DSC_0014-picsayr

It turned out really well I thought, even though I kind of had to unhinge my jaw a little to attempt to eat it, it was quite the monster of a burger. I was a little apprehensive that it might be too much bread, but toasting the buns beforehand fried out a little of the moisture in the bread so it wasn’t quite as heavy and dense, if that makes sense.

DSC_0016-picsayf

Why not give it a try. Bye for now 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

